Lankan Constitutional Council to decide on Police Chief today

Colombo: The Constitutional Council of Sri Lankan Parliament is scheduled to meet today under the patronage of Speaker Karu Jayasuriya to decide on the appointment of the next police chief. Following the procedure adopted in the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, the President has sent three names to the Constitutional Council to be considered for the appointment of the 34th Inspector General of Police (IGP) of Sri Lanka, reports Lanka Page.

Senior Deputy Inspectors General Pujitha Jayasundera, S.M. Wickramasinghe and Chandana Wickramaratne have been nominated by President Maithripala Sirisena for the consideration of the Council.

During the meeting, special attention will be given on the recommendations sent by the President on appointing the next IGP and a final decision will be reached.

The three senior DIGs nominated for the vacant post of IGP will appear before the Council when it convenes. The Council’s decision will immediately be informed to the President. Sri Lanka’s 33rd Police Chief N. K. Illangakoon, who joined the police in 1982, officially retired on April 11 after five years of service at the helm.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal