Junior men team ready for challenge Down Under

FPJ Bureau | Updated on: Thursday, May 30, 2019, 12:34 PM IST


New Delhi : The Indian junior men’s hockey team is geared up to participate in the star-studded Australian Hockey League (AHL) starting September 29th in Perth.

The team will be led by Harjeet Singh and Dipsan Tirkey will shoulder the responsibility of the vice captain. Defender Vikas Dahiya, who was stand-by goalkeeper for PR Sreejesh at the Rio Olympics will also feature in the team.

The strong defence line-up will include Varun Kumar, Gurinder Singh and Vikramjit Singh, while Nilakanta Sharma, Harjeet Singh, Santa Singh, Sumit and Manpreet will form the midfield. The forward line will be led by the talented Mandeep Singh whose performance at the FIH Champions Trophy earlier this year was lauded and will also include Armaan Qureshi, Gurjant Singh, Parvinder Singh, Simranjeet Singh and Ajit Kumar Pandey vying to get goals to their names.


This will be the first time international teams from India, Malaysia and New Zealand will be seen in the Australian Hockey League. There will be 12 teams in the tournament including defending champions Queensland, Northern Territory, South Australia, Western Australia, Australian Capital Territory, Victoria, New South Wales, Tasmania, Malaysian Tigers, Malaysian Blues and New Zealand Futures. As the country’s premier domestic hockey tournament, the AHL sees a wide range of top class athletes – including players from the Kookaburras take to the field to compete for their home state or territory.

“Ahead of the upcoming Junior World Cup to be held in India in December 2016, this is will a very good exposure event for our boys. This is the first time we have been invited for the AHL and we hope to make the best use of the opportunity,” stated Harendra Singh, Indian junior men team coach.



Goalkeepers: Vikas Dahiya, Krishan B Pathak

Defenders: Varun Kumar, Dipsan Tirkey (Vice Captain), Gurinder Singh, Vikramjit Singh, Anand Lakra Midfielders: Nilakanta Sharma, Harjeet Singh (Captain), Santa Singh, Sumit, Manpreet

Forwards: Armaan Qureshi, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Parvinder Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Ajit Kumar Pandey.


(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. To receive it on Telegram, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Thursday, September 22, 2016, 12:09 AM IST