Representative Pic
Representative Pic

Indore: The State GST department has not yet made refunds of the penalty charged from the transporter or traders in the case of E-way bills
for last 2 years. As per the rule, refund of the charged penalty amount has to be made within 90 days.

Commercial Tax Practitioners Association (CTPA) and MP Tax Law Bar
Association have raised the issue of the traders and transporters’
before the State GST Commissioner. The office-bearers of the both
Associations submitted a memorandum to the State GST Commissioner
Raghvendra Singh at his office on Friday. Yashwant Lobhane,
president of CTPA and Ashwin Lakhotia, president of MPTLBA informed
that in 2018 the system of e-way bill was introduced to
send goods worth more than Rs. 50,000 from one state to another and
from one district to another in the country. In the initial phase,
their vehicles were seized along with the goods by the GST department
as transporters did not have necessary documents. The goods and vehicles were released only after the
tax or the amount of penalty or bank guarantee were levied from the
transporter. In such cases, appeals were submitted by the businessman
or transporter.

Lobhane and Lakhotia said as per the rules, the department is
required to make refund within 90 days, if the amount of tax and
penalty deposited is refundable in case the appeal is decided in
favour of transport or the businessman. But currently no refund is
has been received.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal