Indore: DAVV’s wait for model varsity status will be over soon says Jitu Patwari

Indore: Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya, which was promised model university status in 2014, has waited for the status for long but its wait may be over soon. “In minimum three months to maximum one year, the much-awaited model university status will be conferred on DAVV,” said higher education minister Jitu Patwari in a programme organised by Devi Ahilya Private College Association. He said the work to remove shortcomings is underway. During convocation in 2014, the then chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan had announced plans to award model varsity status to DAVV.

Patwari said government will set up 5,000 smart classes in government colleges in one year and identify nearly 200 colleges where courses of different streams can be offered. Chairmen, directors and principals colleges presented there highlighted shortcomings in centralised online admission process and requested the minister to address them. Renaissance University chancellor Swapnil Kothari said system of allotment of admissions on merit basis is adopted in states where number of seats in colleges is more than the number of admission seeking students.

“In Madhya Pradesh, the picture is other way round,” he said. Indore Mahavidyalaya chairman Girdhar Nagar sought counselling in BEd colleges at divisional level and not at state level so that students of one (revenue) division will not be required to go to another division for studies. IPS Academy chairman Achal Choudhary said admission process in MP stretches up to August 15, which is late. “Because of late admission, talented students go to other states for studies. Government needs to ensure that admissions are over in June,” he added. Maheshwari College principal Rajeev Jhalani who expressed similar views said admission process can be improved.

Akshay Academy chairman Akshay Tiwari, Comp-feeders College chairman Awadhesh Dave, Shri Yashwant College chairman Ravi Bhadoria, Arihant College CEO Kavita Kasliwal, Parijat College chairman Sunil Pandya, Matushree College chairman Rambabu Sharma and Annie Besant College chairman Mohit Yadav, Tagore College chairman Bunty Parikh were among representatives of nearly 70 colleges present at the programme.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal