Indore: 14 IMC corporators appear in commissioner’s court

Indore: As many as 14 corporators of Indore Municipal Corporation (IMC), who were accused of skipping IMC’s council meetings, appeared before divisional commissioner’s court on Tuesday and sought copy of charges against them. They told divisional commissioner incharge Vandana Vaidya that they would be able to file their reply only after going through the charges.

Vaidya directed her staff to provide copy of the charge sheet and fixed next date for hearing on February 13. Unfolding the past, former corporator Chintu Choukse had filed a petition before Indore bench of Madhya Pradesh High Court seeking issuance of writ of mandamus directing the divisional commissioner to take legal action against 14 corproators giving a miss to IMC meetings.

The petitioner had informed the court that as per Section 25 A of MP Municipal Corporation Act, 1956 , it is the duty of corporators to remain present and participate regularly in the meetings of the corporation and to cast their vote on the matter included in the agenda of such meetings.

Petitioner Choukse said corporators failed to attend meeting on December 15, 2016, March 3, 2017 and June 13, 2017. As a result, they should be disqualified and disabled from continuing to be a corporator and their office should be declared vacant in the light of Section 17(2)(c) of the Act.

The petitioner said he had made a representation before the divisional commissioner but he did not act. The court had directed divisional commissioner to decide the representation and pass a reasoned order, in accordance with law. On the representation, the divisional commissioner’s court had summoned the coporators. After appearing before Vaidya, the corporators said they attended the meetings and proof regarding the same would be presented before commissioner’s court.

the truant lot

Chandu Rao Shinde, Pooja Patidar , Rajendra Rathore, Shankuntala Gurjar, Raj Kapoor Sunhare , Mahendra Choudhary, Priya Yadav, Chhaya Deshmukh,Tamanna Kero, Sudhir Kolhe, Munnalal Yadav, Sunita Mishra, Sudha Choudhary and Saroj Chouhan.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal