Ranchi: Sitting BJP MP Yashwant Sinha’s son, Jayant, and Congress MLA Sourabh Narayan Singh today filed nomination papers from Hazaribagh Lok Sabha seat.

Accompanied by former BJP president Venkaiah Naidu, Jayant Sinha filed papers from the seat, from where his father represented the party in 1998, 1999 and 2009.

Former chief minister Arjun Munda, ex-deputy chief minister Raghuvar Das and senior BJP leader Deepak Prakash also accompanied the junior Sinha to the election office.

The Congress candidate was also accompanied by senior party leaders to file his papers.

Two-time MP and CPI’s state unit secretary B P Mehta and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) candidate A K Mishra also filed papers from Hazaribagh constituency, according to official sources.

Former minister Neil Tirkey filed his papers as Ajsu party candidate from Khunti LS seat, challenging Lok Sabha deputy Speaker and BJP candidate Karia Munda, who has already filed his papers.

Congress candidate Chitrasen Sinku filed his papers from Singhbhum LS seat.

Former Jharkhand Assembly deputy speaker and JVM candidate Saba Ahmad filed nomination papers from Giridih LS seat from where Janata Dal (United’s) Jharkhand unit president Jaleshwar Mahto also filed papers.

Meanwhile, Returning Officer of Lohardaga LS seat Veena Srivastav said the nomination papers of TMC candidate Chamra Linda has been left ‘pending’ during scrutiny as Congress candidate Rameshwar Oraon complained that Linda has not yet resigned from his post as chairman of Tengughat Vidyoot Nigam.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal