New Delhi: Congress leader Jagdish Tytler will take on J.P. Agarwal, incumbent parliamentarian from Delhi’s North East constituency, in an internal election of the party to select the candidate for the Lok Sabha polls.

“Tytler and former Delhi legislator Rajesh Lilothia filed nominations for the primaries Tuesday,” a party source told IANS.

Tytler is a former parliamentarian from Delhi. His candidature was withdrawn for the 2009 elections.

Agarwal, who resigned as Delhi’s Congress unit president in the wake of the party’s rout in the assembly elections, also filed his nomination.

Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi has introduced US-style primaries on an experimental basis in 16 constituencies countrywide — including two from Delhi– in which party workers would elect the candidate to contest the Lok Sabha polls.

In New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, where too primaries were to be held, it was a walkover for sitting MP Ajay Maken who was elected unopposed.

A total of 330 party workers would vote in the election March 11 and the result would be out the same day.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal