Itanagar: Two candidates filed nominations for the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Arunachal Pradesh today, the last date for filing papers, state Legislative Assembly sources said.

While sitting Congress MP Mukut Mithi filed his papers, Opposition BJP has pitched former legislator Tapen Siga as its candidate, the sources said here.

Election for the RS seat would be held on June 19 following the expiry of term of office of Mithi on May 26 last.

Scrutiny of papers would be done tomorrow, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 12. Counting of votes would take place on the day of polling itself.

Congress has 42 MLAs in the 60-member Arun chal Pradesh Assembly, opposition BJP has 11 legislators while its ally the People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) has five MLAs. There are also two independent MLAs.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal