Gangtok:  The Sikkim Democratic Front today held preparatory talks for the ensuing bye-election for Rangang-Yangyang constituency in South Sikkim.

The meeting appointed Ugen T Gyatso, Girish Chandra Rai [Vice-president South district], CB Karki [Treasurer of SDF], CL Gurung [Zilla Adhkashya South] and BM Ramudamu as the overall in-charge of the election campaign committee.

The party has further delegated charge at the block level to senior ministers, MLAs and Chairpersons of civic bodies.

Senior party functionary and former Minister CB Karki and BS Panth are in charge of Rankey Gaon while Minister DD Bhutia, Chandra Maya Subba [MLA], Avinash Yakha, MB Rai and BB Rai have been given the charge of Rabong-Sangmoo village.

Minister DT Lepcha, Phurmit Lepcha and former MLA Nimthit Lepcha will look after Upper Gangyap, Lower Gangyap and Karong-Gangyap blocks while minister RB Subba, West district President Ran Bahadur Subba, OT Lepcha and R N Rai will look after Sripatam-Namphok block.

Somnath Poudyal, SB Subedi, Am Prasad and DN Sherpa will campaign for Neya-Bram block.

KT Gyaltsen, DR Thapa, Jorgey Namkha and JK Bhandari will look after the legal aspects of the election campaign while Bhim Dahal along with the publicity wing will coordinate the media campaign.

By-poll to the seat will be held on September 13.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal