New Delhi: The President of India, Pranab Mukherjee as advised by the Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, has directed the allocation of portfolios among the following members of the Union Council of Ministers:

According to a press communique released by Rashtrapati Bhavan on Tuesday, the allocation of ministries is as follows:

1. Narendra Modi, Prime Minister (Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy Department of Space; all important policy issues and all other portfolios not allocated to any minister.


1.Raj Nath Singh (Home Affairs)

2.Sushma Swaraj (External Affairs and Overseas Indian Affairs)

3.Arun Jaitley (Finance,Corporate Affairs and Defence)

4.M. Venkaiah Naidu (Urban Development; Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation and Parliamentary Affairs)

5.Nitin Jairam Gadkari (Road Transport and Highways Shipping)

6.D.V. Sadananda Gowda (Railways)

7.Uma Bharati (Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation)

8.Dr. Najma A. Heptulla (Minority Affairs)

9.Gopinathrao Munde (Rural Development; Panchayati Raj; Drinking Water and Sanitation)

10.Ramvilas Paswan (Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution)

11.Kalraj Mishra (Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises)

12.Maneka Sanjay Gandhi (Women and Child Development)

13.Ananthkumar (Chemicals and Fertilizers)

14.Ravi Shankar Prasad (Communications and Information Technology and Law and Justice)

15.Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati (Civil Aviation)

16.Anant Geete (Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises)

17.Harsimrat Kaur Badal (Food Processing Industries)

18.Narendra Singh Tomar (Mines,Steel,Labour and Employment)

19. Jual Oram (Tribal Affairs)

20.Radha Mohan Singh (Agriculture)

21.Thaawar Chand Gehlot (Social Justice and Empowerment)

22.Smriti Zubin Irani (Human Resource Development)

23.Dr. Harsh Vardhan (Health and Family Welfare)


1. General V.K. Singh (Development of North Eastern Region; External Affairs and Overseas Indian Affairs –  Independent Charge)

2. Rao Inderjit Singh Rao (Planning; Statistics and Programme Implementation and Defence – Independent Charge)

3.Santosh Kumar Gangwar (Textiles; Parliamentary Affairs; Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation – Independent Charge)

4.Shripad Yesso Naik (Culture and Tourism – Independent Charge)

5.Dharmendra Pradhan (Petroleum and Natural Gas – Independent Charge)

6.Sarbananda Sonowal (Skill Development; Entrepreneurship; Youth Affairs and Sports – Independent Charge)

7.Prakash Javadekar (Information and Broadcasting; Environment; Forest and Climate Change and Parliamentary Affairs  – Independent Charge)

8.Piyush Goyal (Power; Coal and New and Renewable Energy – Independent Charge)

9.Dr. Jitendra Singh (Science and Technology; Earth Sciences; Prime Minister’s Office; Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy and Department of Space – Independent Charge)

10.Nirmala Sitharaman (Commerce and Industry; Finance and Corporate Affairs – Independent Charge)

11.G.M. Siddeshwara (Civil Aviation)

12.Manoj Sinha (Railways)

13.Nihalchand (Chemicals and Fertilizers)

14.Upendra Kushwaha (Rural Development and Panchayati Raj; Drinking Water and Sanitation)

15.Radhakrishnan P (Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises)

16.Kiren Rijiju (Home Affairs)

17.Krishan Pal (Road Transport and Highways and Shipping)

18.Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan (Agriculture and Food Processing Industries)

19.Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava (Tribal Affairs)

20.Raosaheb Dadarao Danve (Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution)

21.Vishnu Deo Sai (Mines; Steel and Labour and Employment)

22. Sudarshan Bhagat (Social Justice and Empowerment)

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal