Premium trains: comfortable journeys
Premium trains: comfortable journeys

Railways to offer better frequencies and premium service, more areas to come under the network

Premium trains: comfortable journeys
Premium trains: comfortable journeys

New Delhi : In a parting gift before the polls, Railway Minister Mallikarjun Kharge on Wednesday announced 72 new trains and increased the frequency or destinations of six other trains. The new trains include 17 “premium trains,” a new category introduced after experimenting with the premium AC special train introduced between Delhi and Mumbai with a shorter advance reservation period and dynamic pricing as per demand.

Mumbai has got five such premium trains, Pune one, Nagpur four and Rajasthan three. Not to be left behind, tiny Goa too got a bi-weekly Madgaon-Nizamuddin (Delhi) AC Express via Kota, Vasai Road.In case of the 38 express trains, Mumbai, Rajasthan and Gujarat gained six more trains each, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh five each. Out of ten new passenger trains, Rajasthan got one -the daily Jaipur-Phulera passenger — and Madhya Pradesh one, the daily Bina-Katni passenger.

Madhya Pradesh has been promised a new DEMU train between Ratlam and Fatehabad Chandravati Ganj after the gauge conversation. Gujarat got one Memu between Anand ann Dakor twice a day and a DEMU between Morbi and Maliya Miyana. Rajasthan also gained with two of the three trains’ run being extended — Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Sujangarh Express up to Jodhpur and Kathgodam-Bhagat ki Kothi Ranikhet Express up to Jaisalmer.

Kharge also announced a survey for 19 new lines to be undertaken in 2014-15, five of them in Maharashtra, including one to connect Sharad Pawar’s Baramati with Pune via Saswad, Jejuri and Moregaon; also on anvil are three new lines in Madhya Pradesh and one each in Gujarat in Dahod-Modasa and Rajasthan on Kota-Singoli-Neemuch sector.

The five new premium trains allotted to Mumbai are biweekly Mumbai-Howrah AC Express via Nagpur; bi-weekly Mumbai-Patna AC Express via Khandwa and Itarsi (MP); weekly Bandra-Amritsar Express via Kota and New Delhi; weekly Bandra-Katra Express via Kota and New Delhi; and biweekly Mumbai-Gorakhpur Express via Khandwa, Itarsi and Kanpur.

The other train from Maharashtra is biweekly Pune-Howrah via Nagpur; Nagpur is on the route of four new trains: the weekly Patna-Bangalore Express and the Katra-Yeshwantpur Express; the biweekly Pune-Howrah AC Express; and the Mumbai-Howrah AC Express. Pune is also on the route of the weekly Yesvantpur-Jaipur AC Express.

Three premium trains gained by Rajasthan are: Weekly Jaipur-Yesvantpur AC Express via Pune, Vasai Road, biweekly Jodhpur-Seldah and tri-weekly Ahmedabad-Delhi Sarai Rohilla Express via Ajmer, Rewari. Six new Express trains gained by Mumbai are: Weekly Bandra-Lucknow Express via Kota, Mathura, weekly Bandra-Bhavnagar via Ahmedabad,weekly Mumbai-Hubli express via Sholapur, weekly Bandra-Kanpur express via Kota, Mathura, weekly Mumbai-Chennai Express via Pune, weekly Mumbai-Gorakhpur Express (after gauge conversion), and weekly Mumbai-Karmali AC Express via Roha. Other new Express trains awarded to Maharashtra are: Weekly Nagpur-Rewa express via Satna, weekly Aurangabad-Renigunta Express via Parbhani, weekly Pune-Gorakhpur express via Lukhnow, Kanpur, Bina, weekly Pune-Lucknow Express via Khandwa, Bhopal, Kanpur, and weekly Nanded-Aurangabad Express via Purna, Parbhani. Rajasthan’s gain includes a daily Jaipur-Chandigarh intercity via Jhajjar while four other trains to ply via Jaipur are weekly Ahmedabad-Katra express, weekly Ahmedabad-Lukhnow Express, weekly Bhavnagar-Delhi Sarai Rohilla Link Express and weekly Mannargudi-Jodhpur. Other trains allotted to Rajasthan are: Weekly Sriganganagar-Jammu Tawi Express, weekly Kota-Jammu Tawi Express, weekly Jodhpur-Mannargudi express.

Ahmedabad has gained three new weekly express trains, one each to Lukhnow, Allahabad and Katra in J&K while Bhavnagar got two weeklies, one to Bandra and one to Delhi Sarai Rohilla while a weekly will ply between Gandhidham and Puri. Bhopal got a direct weekly train to Bareilly via Aligarh, Agra while other train gained by it is weekly Pune-Lucknow express to pass through it. Other new express train in Madhya Pradesh is the weekly Jabalpur-Manduadih via Allahabad, Satna. Madhya Pradesh also got a new daily Bina-Katni passenger train.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal