New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday was the first Member of the 16th Lok Sabha to take oath of allegiance.

He was asked to take his oath by the Lok Sabha’s Pro-Tem Speaker, Kamla Nath.

Modi, who took his oath in Hindi, swore allegiance in the name of the Almighty and the Constitution, and promised to defend and protect the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the nation and its people.

He also promised to discharge the duties that he was about to enter into as a member of the Lower House of the Indian Parliament.

Modi then signed the register.

He was then followed by senior BJP leader L.K.Advani and Congress president Sonia Gandhi, who also took their oath of allegiance in Hindi.

After signing the register, Advani offered his salutations to the senior leaders, including Prime Minister Modi, sitting in the front row of the tresury benches of the House

The oath or affirmation is taken in pursuance of Article 99 of the Constitution.

The Lok Sabha Secretary General then took over from Pro-Tem Speaker Kamal Nath in the conducting the remainder of the oath-taking ceremony.

Since protocol has to be followed during the oath-taking ceremony of 543 MPs, the entire process is expected to be completed by Friday.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal