New Delhi : Over one-fourth of the MPs gave a miss to the budget session of the Lok Sabha so far. The data put on the Lok Sabha website shows that on an average 144 MPs did not sign the attendance register during the first nine days of session as against the total 544 members in the House.

The current session began on February 23 and continues till May 23, with a recess in between from March 17 to April 24. The MPs are supposed to sign the attendance registers kept in the lobbies to draw daily allowance of Rs 2,000 per day during the session.

The data worked out on the basis of the attendance registers may not be accurate on the absentee MPs as some may not have signed. For instance, many ministers did not sign and they include not only Prime Minister Narendra Modi but also ministers like Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj and Nitin Gadkari.

  Date-wise chart of the absentees:

February 23             161

February 24             149

February 25             113

February 29             109

March 1                     115

March 2                     132

March 3                     161

March 4                     196

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal