Odisha to witness triangular battle in Phase 4

Bhubaneswar: Odisha is expected to witness a triangular battle between the ruling BJD, BJP and Congress in the fourth phase of the LS polls scheduled to be held on April 29. The polls will be held for Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha constituencies and 41 Assembly segments under them.

Fifty-two candidates are in the fray for the six Lok Sabha seats while 336 candidates including 34 female and one belonging to the third gender, are contesting for the Assembly segments, said an election official. A total of 95.14 lakh voters are eligible to cast their ballots in 10,792 booths. Out of the total voters, 49.08 lakh are male, 46.05 lakh female and 615 third gender.

As the campaign has gained momentum, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) is trying to retain the six Lok Sabha seats it had won in 2014 polls. The coastal state has been a bastion of regional party. An intense battle will be witnessed in Kendrapara where BJP national vice-president Baijayant Panda will lock horns with BJD Rajya Sabha MP and Odia actor Anubhav Mohanty.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal