New Delhi: Chief Vigilance Commissioner Pradeep Kumar is all set to hang up the boots on September 28 and the hunt has already begun for his successor. A circular has gone out to the secretaries in the Government of India to nominate candidates for the post. Kumar was a retired IAS officer of the 1972 batch of the Haryana cadre. The CVC is to be appointed on the recommendation of a 3-member committee comprising the Prime Minister, the Home Minister and the Leader of the Opposition (LoP) in the Lok Sabha.

There should be no problem if the Speaker does not recognise the leader of the Congress in the Lok Sabha as the LoP since the CVC Act of 2003 is quite explicit that “when no such leader has been so recognised, include the Leader of the single largest group in opposition of the Government in the House of the People.”

The Congress will stake claim of the UPA as the single largest group to seek a position in the CVC selection committee, though its claim may run into difficulty if the AIADMK and Trinamul Congress move the Speaker to declare them as a group of 71. AIADMK has 37 members and TMC 34. The UPA as such has only 61 members (Cong 44, NCP 6, RJD 4, PDP 3, INLD and IUML 2 each)

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal