Modi takes oath as India’s 15th PM

New Delhi: Narendrabhai Damodardas Modi, who made history last week with a stupendous victory in the general election, was Monday evening sworn in as India’s 15th prime minister at an open-air ceremony attended by over 4,000 guests.

The oath of office and secrecy was administered by President Pranab Mukherjee at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, the presidential palace, with the setting sun serving as a backdrop to the momentous event attended by leaders from eight countries including Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.

A council of ministers, numbering around 45, also took oath. The Modi government succeeds the government of prime minister Manmohan Singh whose UPA coalition government was in power for 10 years.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal