New Delhi: After taking charge at the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), Prime Minister Narendra Modi has arrived at the Hyderabad House accompanied by his External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj.

Modi is scheduled to meet here all the eight South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) Heads of Government for a one-on- one.

An MEA release yesterday on its site gave a detailed list of the timings of the scheduled meetings between Modi and the Heads of State.

Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai will make a courtesy call to Modi tomorrow in the morning at 9.30 a.m. While his Maldivian counterpart Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom is likely to meet Modi at 10.05 a.m.

Following him will be the Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa who will pay a courtesy call to Modi at 10.30 hours in the morning.

Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay is scheduled to meet Modi at 10.55 a.m. While his Mauritian counterpart Navin Ramgoolam will hold parleys with Modi at 11.20 a.m. Nepalese Prime Minister Sushil Koirala is set to meet Modi at 11.45 a.m.

All eyes would be on Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif who will hold meeting with Modi at 12.10 a.m. Bangladesh Parliament Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will meet Modi at 1245 hours.

Narendra Modi was administered oath of office and secrecy by President Pranab Mukherjee as India’s 15th Prime Minister along with his 44-member Cabinet on Monday evening.

The ministers who were sworn-in included Arun Jaitley, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Smriti Irani, Nitin Gadkari, Venkaiah Naidu, Gopinath Munde, Ravi Shankar Prasad, V.K.Singh, RamVilas Paswan among others.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by several world leaders including Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa and Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai.

Heads of Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Maldives and Mauritius were also present at the swearing-in ceremony.

The swearing-in ceremony was also attended by a host of Bollywood celebrities including Salman Khan, Hrithik Roshan, Vivek Oberoi, Dharmendra.

Outgoing Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress president Sonia Gandhi and party vice president Rahul Gandhi, besides leaders of various other parties and chief ministers of a number of states were also present at the swearing-in ceremony.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal