'Mamata Banerjee will lose, 200% confident BJP will win': Suvendu Adhikari ahead of West Bengal Assembly polls

BJP leader Suvenu Adhikari who is contesting elections against Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee from Nandigram constituency ahead of the West Bengal Assembly polls is confident that the CM will lose against him. Expressing his confidence on BJP's victory in the upcoming polls, he said, "She'll lose, 200% confident that BJP will win.".

Accusing the CM of doing appeasement politics, he said, "For 10 years she has been supporting 'ghuspaithye' against CAA-NRC. She should carry her report card of work done by her party in the last 10 years".

On March 8, Mamata Banerjee chanted verses of Chandipath during her visit at Jankipath temple on which he accused her of chanting it wrongly.

Addressing a gathering after inaugurating a party office, Suvendu said, the TMC supremo had now stopped chanting "Inshallah" and "Khuda Hafiz". Sharing a tweet he had written, Yesterday, she prayed to Ram at Janakinath temple, and that too wearing slippers. Now, she has stopped chanting Inshallah, Khuda Hafiz...Hindu dharma is on her lips. She gave ticket to Sayoni Ghosh, who abused Hindu deities. Why does she (Mamata) need to stress on her Hindu surname now?"

Today earlier in the day, Mamata Banerjee filed her nomination from the high-profile Nandigram assembly seat. Accompanied by party president Subrata Bakshi, Banerjee filed her papers at the Haldia sub-divisional office here, after taking part in a 2-km roadshow.

While, the CM on March 9 held her first meeting in Nandigram where in a scathing attack on BJP she said, "Don't play the Hindutva card with me. I am a Hindu Brahmin girl. I do Chandi Path before stepping out from my houseThose who are coming from Rajasthan and Gujarat, they are insiders and I became an outsider!"

Nandigram assembly constituency is set for a high- octane battle with Banerjee deciding to contest from the seat against Adhikari, who recently switched over to the saffron camp. West Bengal will witness Assembly election in eight phases starting from March 27 and polling for the last phase will take place on April 29. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal