Kerala Election 2021: Pinarayi Vijayan submits resignation to Governor Arif Mohammed Khan
Photo Credit: ANI

Thiruvananthapuram: Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan who led theruling CPI(M)-headed LDF in Kerala to a resounding victory in the April 6 Assembly polls, on Monday resigned from the post, ahead of the new ministry formation.

Vijayan drove to the Raj Bhavan around noon and submitted his resignation letter to Governor Arif Mohammed Khan, sources said.

Vijayan has been asked to continue as chief minister till the new government is sworn in, Raj Bhavan source said.

Scripting history, the LDF retained power in Kerala, bucking the over four decade-long trend of oscillating between Communist and Congress-led fronts alternately.

LDF won 99 of the total 140 seats, while the opposition UDF had to settle for the remaining 41 and BJP drew a blank.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal