PTI Photo
PTI Photo

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India on Monday issued a notification for the first phase of Lok Sabha election, which is due to be held on April 11. As many as 91 Parliamentary constituencies spread over 20 states and Union Territories will go to polls in this phase. The last date for filing of nominations is March 25 and the scrutiny of the nomination papers will be carried out on March 26. The last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is March 28.

Among the constituencies going for polls in the first phase are – eight in Uttar Pradesh, five in Uttarakhand, four in Bihar, seven in Maharashtra, five in Assam, four in Odisha, two each in Jammu and Kashmir, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya and West Bengal, and one each in Chhattisgarh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.

The Election Commission has also issued the notification for all 32 Assembly seats in Sikkim, 60 constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh and Assembly elections for all the 175 Assembly constituencies of Andhra Pradesh. In Jammu and Kashmir, with the issuance of notification for Jammu -Poonch Lok Sabha constituency, the election process started in the state. The counting of votes will be held on May 23.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal