Delhi Assembly Election 2020 -- Timarpur Assembly constituency of Delhi: Full list of candidates, polling dates
Delhi Assembly Election 2020 -- Timarpur Assembly constituency of Delhi: Full list of candidates, polling dates

Timarpur assembly constituency is one of the seventy assembly constituencies of Delhi in northern India. Timarpur assembly constituency is a part of North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

In 2015, Timarpur assembly constituency had 66 percent voter turnout. In the Delhi Assembly Elections 2015, Pankaj Pushkar from AAP won this seat bagging 64,477 votes and beating Rajni Abbi from BJP who received 43,830 votes. In 2020, Aam Aadmi Party has fielded Dilip Pandey. Other prominent faces to contest the 2020 state assembly election from Timarpur Assembly are Amar Lata Sangwan of Congress and Surinder Pal Singh of Bharatiya Janata Party.

Full list of candidates for Timarpur assembly who will contest Delhi Assembly Election 2020:

1. Dilip Pandey from AAP

2. Amar Lata Sangwan from Congress

3. SURINDER PAL SINGH from Bharatiya Janata Party

4. Sanjeev Kumar Rana from Communist Party of India

5. PARASHU RAM MAURYA from Jan Adhikar Party

6. RAJ KUMAR MALIK from Satya Bahumat Party

Assembly elections in Delhi will be held on February 8 in what promises to be a high stake triangular contest with the AAP hoping to retain power on the plank of development and the BJP and the Congress determined to put up a spirited challenge. Announcing the 1-day poll for the 70-member Assembly, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora told a news conference on Monday that counting of votes will be taken up on February 11.

Over 1.46 crore voters can exercise their franchise, according to the final electoral roll published on January 6. There are total 1,46,92,136 voters -- 80,55,686 males, 66,35,635 females and 815 belonging to third gender -- in the final voters list. All voters will be provided QR code-enabled voters slip which will speed up voting through easy identification.

This time Delhi will have 13,659 polling stations as compared to 11,763 in 2014, a jump of 16.89 per cent, according to an EC press note. The Commission has decided to extend the facility of postal ballot for "absentee voters", people with disability and those above 80 years of age in all 70 assembly constituencies. In October last year, the government had amended election rules to allow "absentee voters" to vote by postal ballot.

Electors on duty in polling station, electors who are above 80 years of age and the electors marked as 'Persons with Disabilities' in the Electoral Roll will have the option to seek postal ballot paper for casting their vote. The facility of absentee voter status was provided for the first time in the country in seven assembly constituencies in Jharkhand which went to polls recently.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal