Crucial fifth phase Bihar poll tomorrow

Patna: The crucial fifth phase Lok Sabha election in Bihar tomorrow will decide the fate of LJP president Ramvilas Paswan and Rabri Devi, former state chief minister Lalu Prasad’s wife.

Of the seven constituencies going to the poll, the two most important are Hajipur(SC) and Saran, both situated in the Gangetic plains of Bihar, from where Ramvilas Paswan and Rabri Devi are contesting. A total 118 candidates are contesting the seven seats.

The other five seats are: Sheohar, Sitamarhi, Muzaffarpur, Maharajganj and Ujiyarpur.

Polling would also be held in Chiraiya and Maharajganj assembly constituencies in this phase also.

After the end of this round of election, polling will be completed in 34 of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar.

Five of the seven LS seats going to the poll had been won by JD(U) in 2009 while Saran and Maharajganj had gone to RJD.

Over 1.08 crore electorate are eligible to cast their votes in 9,804 polling stations amidst elaborate security arrangement. The Indo-Nepal border has been sealed for the purpose.

Elaborate security measures have been taken for the  smooth conduct of the poll. Two helicopters will be deployed for air surveillance and 66,211 jawans will be put on duty to man the polling stations, state chief secretary A K Sinha said.

A total of 145 companies of the central para-military forces, will also be put on duty besides seven units of the mounted police, 36 motor boats, adequate number of motorized boats and 375 motorcycles for petrolling in riverine areas.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal