Kolkata: Counting of votes in the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal will begin at 8:00 AM tomorrow under the direct supervision of Election Commission officials to decide the fate of 472 candidates.

Altogether 48 counting venues, comprising 69 counting centres, have been set up, which would be directly supervised by 43 general observers and 55 counting observers, Assistant CEO Amitjyoti Bhattacharya said today.

A three-tier security arrangement has been made for the counting venues with the outer ring, 100 metres from the venue, to be manned by state forces.

The counting hall and strong rooms will be manned by central forces.

CCTVs and alternative power sources have been kept ready in all counting venues, Bhattacharya said.

The results of six assembly by-elections will also be declared tomorrow.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal