Secular Progressive Front members led by Ibobi Singh meet Manipur governor Najma Heptullah
Secular Progressive Front members led by Ibobi Singh meet Manipur governor Najma Heptullah
Twitter - Najma Heptullah

BJP General Secretary Ram Madhav and Congress leader Ajay Maken have been exchanging a war of words on Twitter over the formation of a government in Manipur.

It all began on Thursday when the Congress party, along with some allies, approached Manipur Governor Najma Heptullah to form the Secular Progressive Front (SPF). They also requested a special Assembly session for a trust vote, insisting they had the numbers.

Madhav then put out a tweet mocking the members of the Congress, saying that they couldn’t even win a Rajya Sabha seat from the state, leave alone wanting to stake claim to form the state government in Manipur. “Their leader Ajay Maken and MP Gaurav Gogoi entered Manipur disregarding Corona guidelines. They have been promptly quarantined by the state health authorities,” he alleged.

Maken not one to stay quiet, then claimed that the Congress had received all necessary permission from the state to meet the governor, claiming that the team that had arrived at Imphal had already been tested by all the medical staff. "No Ram Madhav ji Congress always regards rules & traditions- We came here with permission (as attached)with full knowledge & booked quarantine centre in advance It’s a support to the Manipur PCC & it’s people in fight against a Govt formed by manipulation against popular votes! (sic)" he said.

Meanwhile, Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh on Freiday said that many members from Congress are supporting his government in the state.

"Many members from Congress and others are supporting us. MLAs are coming forward to support our government's work for development and welfare of the State. The decision on floor test will be taken by Governor but as of today, we have seen who got the majority," Singh said.

This came after Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Manipur with 28 votes. BJP candidate Leisemba Sanajaoba defeated Congress candidate T Mangibabu.

Earlier, three BJP MLAs resigned and joined Congress while four National People's Party (NPP) MLAs, an independent MLA and Trinamool Congress (TMC) MLA withdrew support to N Biren Singh-led government.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal