Updated on: Thursday, October 24, 2019, 04:00 PM IST

Bypoll Results 2019 LIVE Updates: RJD's Zafar Alam defeats JD(U)'s Arun Kumar by 15,508 votes in Bihar


On Thursday, counting of votes has begun on Thursday for 51 assembly seats and two Lok Sabha constituencies spread across 18 states where by-elections were held two days ago. Counting will be held for the maximum 11 seats in Uttar Pradesh, followed by six in Gujarat, five in Bihar, four in Assam and two each in Himachal Pradesh and Tamil Nadu.

The other states where bypolls were held are Punjab (4 seats), Kerala (5 seats), Sikkim (3 seats), Rajasthan (2 seats) and one seat each in Maharashtra, Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Puducherry, Meghalaya and Telangana.

Here are the LIVE Updates of the bypolls:

Opposition Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has wrested the Simri Bakhtiyarpur assembly seat from the ruling JD(U) in Bihar. RJD's Zafar Alam defeated JD(U)candidate Arun Kumar by a comprehensive margin of 15,508 votes.

Samajwadi Party's Gaurav Kumar has won the Zaidpur assembly bypoll seat defeating the BJP candidate. Kumar defeated BJP's candidate Amrish by a margin of 4,165 votes.


MP Jhabua Bypoll - MP BJP president Rakesh Singh concedes defeat in Jhabua bypoll

Gujarat Bypoll update - Total 6 seat by poll 2 won by congress 2 won by BJP and 2 lead by congress

Sikkim Bypoll: Sikkim CM wins from Poklok Kamrang seat, BJP bags Martam


Satara Lok sabha By Polls - Udayanraje Bhosale of BJP trailing by over 94000

BJP wins Dharamshala bypoll: The ruling BJP on Thursday won the Dharamshala bypoll in Himachal Pradesh, with its candidate Vishal Nehriya winning by a margin of 6,673 votes.

BIHAR BYPOLL - Kishanganj assembly bypoll - AIMIM leading by 6271 votes


Sikkim By-polls - CM PS Golay leads by over 8,000 votes

Punjab bypolls: Congress ahead in 3 seats, SAD leading in 1

Punjab Bypolls:

The Congress is ahead in the three seats of Jalalabad, Phagwara and Mukerian, while the SAD is leading in Dakha in the bypolls to four assembly seats of Punjab, as per early trends.

(Source: PTI)

Madhya Pradesh Bypolls:

Congress candidate Kantilal Bhuria leading by 810 votes over nearest BJP rival Bhanu Bhuria in the Jhabua Assembly seat bypoll in Madhya Pradesh after third round of counting.

(Source: PTI)

Chhattisgarh bypoll:

Congress candidate Rajman Benzam leading by 1,900 votes over BJP's Lachhuram Kashyap in Chitrakot Assembly bypoll in Chhattisgarh after second round of counting.

(Source: PTI)

Maharashtra bypoll:

BJP candidate Udayanraje Bhosale is trailing behind NCP nominee Shriniwas Patil by 1,089 votes in Satara Lok Sabha seat bypoll after the first round of counting.

(Source: PTI)

Odisha Assembly bypoll results: BJD continues to lead in Bijepur.

Tamil Nadu Assembly bypoll results: AIADMK is leading in Tamil Nadu’s Vikravandi.

Uttar Pradesh Assembly bypoll result: In Rampur, SP MP Azam Khan's wife Tanzeen Fatima is leading.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Thursday, October 24, 2019, 04:00 PM IST