Image source Freepik
Image source Freepik

Panaji: BJP’s Pramod Sawant willl be the new chief minister of Goa, party sources said Monday. Two MLAs from the BJP alliance partners will be made deputy chief ministers as part of the compromise reached with allies, they said. The BJP managed to break the deadlock in Goa, offering key allies their pound of flesh, by accepting their demand for deputy CM’s posts.

Sawant is now Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly. He will succeed Manohar Parrikar who died Sunday. The two would-be Dy CMs are Goa Forward Party chief Vijai Sardesai and MGP MLA Sudin Dhavalikar. “We have managed to convince the alliance partners and finalised the formula of two deputy chief ministers for the state, a senior BJP functionary said.

The swearing in ceremony is likely to be held at 9 pm Monday, he said.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal