NEW DELHI : Parliament’s 49 standing committees and eight ad hoc committees have come to a standstill because the Congress has not recommended names of its MPs for induction.

These committees are constituted every year before July 31, but Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari are helpless to constitute them for want of the Congress list.

Inquiries in the Congress parliamentary office showed that the party leadership has put on hold the list because of the impending reshuffle of the union ministry since anyone becoming the minister cannot be a member of any parliamentary committee.

There are 16 departmental standing committees constituted by the Speaker and eight by the Rajya Sabha chairman, while there are 17 other standing committees and eight ad hoc committees.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal