Chandigarh: All necessary arrangements are in place for the counting of votes at 90 centres in Haryana tomorrow, state Chief Electoral Officer Shrikant Walgad said today.

The counting would commence at 8 am and it would be held at the centres set up across 32 locations in the state while 32 Election Observers would also be on duty, he said.

The Assistant Returning Officers would conduct the counting of votes at these centres, he informed.

Tight security arrangements have been put in place for the counting process and as part of security measures a three-tier cordoning system would be in place to prevent unauthorised entry inside counting centres, Walgad said.

The EVMs would be taken to the voting hall or centre from the strongroom in the morning tomorrow. Initially, the postal ballots would be counted, after which the counting of votes would begin at 8.30 am, Walgad said, adding that the entire process of transportation of EVMs would be videographed.

Elections to the 10 Parliamentary seats in Haryana were held on April 10. The fate of 230 candidates has been sealed in the EVMs by nearly 72 per cent of the 1.6 crore electorate who had cast their votes.

In 2009, Congress had won nine seats and Haryana Janhit Congress one.

Among the prominent contenders whose fate would be known tomorrow are Congress’ Deepinder Hooda, Naveen Jindal, state party chief Ashok Tanwar, Shruti Choudhry, Arvind Sharma and Avtar Singh Bhadana, all seeking re-election from their respective constituencies of Rohtak, Kurukshetra, Sirsa (SC), Bhiwani-Mahendergarh, Karnal and Faridabad.

From Hisar, the fate of Haryana Janhit Congress chief Kuldeep Bishnoi, who is seeking re-election from here, will be also be known tomorrow.

From Gurgaon seat, the fate of former Union Minister Rao Inderjit Singh, who quit Congress to join BJP, and is locked in contest against Aam Aadmi Party’s Yogendra Yadav, will also become clear.

Railway cop found dead in Srinagar

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal