Thiruvananthapuram : Now that the dust has settled down after the Lok Sabha polls and the spotlight shifts to parliament, there is one thing you can certainly expect from the 20 MPs from Kerala — not say ‘aye’ in favour of prime ministerial nominee Narendra Modi, reports IANS.

While the BJP was not able to open its account in the state in the recent election, the state returned eight Congressmen, five members of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), two Left-supported Independents and two from the India Union Muslim League, and one each from the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), Kerala Congress (Mani) and the CPI.

All of them are expected not to toe the BJP line, if one takes their respective political leanings into account. One feature of this group of 20 Kerala MPs in the 16th LS is that pan-India political parties like the Communist Party of India (CPI) and RSP will have just the lone member each from the state.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal