AAP’s M S Dhir  is new Delhi  Assembly Speaker
AAP’s M S Dhir  is new Delhi  Assembly Speaker

New Delhi : AAP candidate M S Dhir was on Friday elected as the Speaker of Delhi Assembly with the support of Congress, reports PTI. 

Dhir was also backed by the lone JD (U) MLA and an Independent. 37 MLAs supported Dhir while BJP candidate Jagdish Mukhi got the support of 32 MLAs from his party.
Immediately after his election to the post, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and BJP leader Harshvardhan greeted Dhir and wished him good luck.
“I congratulate you from the core of my heart and hope that you will keep the prestige and the tradition of the assembly intact,” said Vardhan. The pro-tem speaker conducted a voice vote twice following objections by BJP MLAs.
The minority Aam Aadmi Party government on Thursday had crossed the first hurdle in the Delhi Assembly when its confidence motion sailed through easily with the backing of the members of Congress, JD(U) and an independent.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal