–AAP releases 2nd list of 30 candidates for Lok Sabha polls
–Rajmohan Gandhi to contest from East Delhi on AAP ticket

NEW DELHI – Continuing with its tactic of contesting  elections in seats that are currently represented by political heavyweights, the Aam Aadmi party today released its second list of 30 candidates for the Lok Sabha polls.

Mahatma Gandhi’s grandson, Rajmohan Gandhi, who joined the party a few days ago, will contest from the East Delhi constituency. Congress’ Sandeep Dikshit, son of former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, is the sitting Member of Parliament from East Delhi. Of the 30 constituencies in AAP’s second list, 10 are in Maharashtra, six in Madhya Pradesh, five from Haryana, three from Rajasthan, and one each from Delhi, Gujarat, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir.

The sitting MPs from these constituencies include Minister of Home Affairs Sushilkumar Shinde, Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj, union ministers Praful Patel, Farooq Abdullah and Parneet Kaur, Deepender Singh Hooda and Naveen Jindal of Congress, Kuldeep Bishnoi of Haryana Janhit Congress, and Gopinath Munde of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The party had released its first list of 20 candidates on Feb 16. However, the AAP is still tight-lipped on the candidature of its national convener and former Delhi CM of 49 days Arvind Kejriwal, whose name was conspicuously absent in both lists.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal