West Bengal panchayat elections LIVE Updates: TMC and BJP workers clash outside a counting centre in Birbhum

Kolkata: After facing all the violence and disruptions during the election procedures, the results of West Bengal polls is set to arrive today. The counting for the Gram panchayat elections has started from 8 A.M. today. The results will decide the future of prominent parties in West Bengal like Trinamool Congress, which is led by Mamata Banerjee, the Bhartiya Janata Party and the Communist Party of India.

The election took place for 621 Zilla Parishads, over six thousand panchayat samities, and nearly 31 thousand gram panchayats. The main Zilla Parishads are Bankura, Burdwan, Birbhum, Darjeeling, Howrah, Hooghly, Jalpaipuri, Cooch Bihar, Malda, Paschim Medinipur, Purba Murshidabad, Nadia, Purulia, North 24-Parganas, South 24-Parganas, Dakshin Dinajpur, Uttar Dunajpur, Siliguri MP, Kolkata-North, Alipurduar, Kolkata-South and Paschim Burdwan.

The Panchayat polls, which were held on Monday, May 14, had to be rescheduled in 568 election booths spread across 19 districts of the state by the State Election Commission on May 16 as proceedings were marred by violence. The booths, where re-polling took place, included 63 in Murshidabad, 52 in Coochbehar, 28 in West Midnapore and 10 in Hooghly among others.

The elections were largely criticized due to the mishaps that occurred during the day of polling. According to reports, there were about 43 clashes that happened between cadres of contesting parties. About 12 persons died and 43 were injured. The elections saw various incidents like stopping the voters from exercising their rights, booth capturing, destroying the ballots boxes.

Here are the live updates from the West Bengal Gram panchayat election results:

Security Personnel lathi charge TMC and BJP workers who clashed outside a counting centre in Birbhum.

West Bengal: TMC workers celebrate as their party is leading in #PanchayatElections. Visuals from North 24 Parganas. Counting still under progress.

Till now, TMC has won 110 seats & is leading on 1,208, BJP has won 4 seats & is leading on 81, while CPI(M) has won 3 seats & has a lead on 58. Counting in progress.

Police has seized 40 mobile phones from a counting centre set up at Jalpaiguri’s Polytechnic Institute.

West Bengal: Inside visuals from a counting centre in North 24 Parganas, as counting of votes for #PanchayatElection is underway

West Bengal: Counting of votes for has started in Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, North Dinajpur, South Dinajpur, Jalpaiguri and Malda districts of North Bengal.

Counting of votes for has started in 6 districts of North Bengal.

Counting of votes for West Bengal #PanchayatElection delayed at a counting centre in North 24 Parganas.

Counting of votes begins for #PanchayatElections in #WestBengal.

Unidentified miscreants escape with a ballot box from polling booth no. 76 in Malda’s Ratua also brandish a gun. The person who shot the video claimed that he was later threatened by the miscreants

Free Press Journal