TRS chief K.Chandrasekhara Rao resigns from Medak LS seat

Hyderabad : Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) supremo K Chandrasekhara Rao has resigned from Medak Parliament seat while retaining Gajwel Assembly seat from where he was recently elected.

KCR contested from Medak Lok Sabha and Gajwel Assembly constituencies and won both the seats. While he won the Medak Lok Sabha seat by a record margin of 3.97 lakh votes against his nearest Congress rival Shravan Kumar Reddy. Rao defeated Telugu Desam’s V. Pratap Reddy in Gajwel Assembly constituency by a margin of 19,218 votes.

KCR’s resignation to Lok Sabha secretary general P. Sreedharan was submitted by KCR’s daughter and Nizamabad MP Kavitha, TRS secretary general K. Kesava Rao and MP B. Vinod Kumar on Monday.

Rao is going to take oath as Chief Minister of the new Telangana state on June 2nd.

The TRS has managed to win a majority in the Telangana Assembly bagging 63 seats in 119 member Telangana Assembly. Rao has already been elected as the leader of the TRS legislature party for the state.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal