Hyderabad: The ruling Congress suffered a set back in Andhra Pradesh today as three MLAs from coastal region quit the party in protest against the bifurcation of the state.

Adala Prabhakar Reddy, Sridhar Krishna Reddy (both from Nellore district) and B Satyananda Rao (East Godavari), who strongly opposed the tabling of Telangana Bill in Parliament, made the announcement this morning.

More Congress MLAs from Seemandhra, who have been vehemently opposing the state division, are also likely to desert the party soon.

The Congress had on Tuesday expelled six Lok Sabha MPs from the Seemandhra region who had given notices of no-confidence motion against the UPA government over their opposition to the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal