New Delhi: The Shiromani Akali Dal today declared the names of its candidates for four seats in the ensuing elections to the Legislative Assembly of Delhi which the party is contesting in alliance with BJP.

Announcing the names of candidates, senior SAD leader and in-charge of party’s affairs in Delhi, Balwant Singh Ramoowalia said, two of its candidates will contest on the party symbol – scales, while the other two will contest on ally BJP’s symbol – lotus.

Among the names of candidates announced by SAD are Manjinder Singh Sirsa from Rajouri Garden, Sham Sharma from Hari Nagar Assembly seat who would contest on the party symbol.

Harmit Singh Kalka from Kalkaji and Jatinder Singh Shunty from Shahdara seat would contest on the BJP symbol, senior SAD leaders said.

Ramoowalia said the decision to contest two seats on the BJP symbol had been taken with an aim to ensure maximum number of wins. Among the issues that the party would raise are giving equal treatment to Punjabi language, which he said was presently being given “step motherly” treatment.

If the BJP-SAD alliance was  voted to power, they would strive to get the culprits of 1984 riots punished besides looking into various other issues like welfare of minorities and better law and order, he said.

Senior party leader Naresh Gujral said care has been taken that the chosen candidates have a clean image.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal