Naveen Patnaik
Naveen Patnaik

Bhubaneswar:  Naveen Patnaik will be sworn in as Chief Minister of Odisha for the fourth consecutive term with his new council of ministers on May 21.

Patnaik who met Governor S C Jamir told reporters that he submitted the letter of his election as the leader of the BJD Legislature Party.

“The new council of ministers will be sworn-in on 21st morning,” he said.

With Patnaik announcing date of the swearing in, speculations were rife on the shape and composition of the new ministry.

Patnaik was likely to induct some new faces in the ministry and give rest to some old faces, sources said.

The new ministry was expected to be a balanced one in which different regions and categories would get fair representation, they said.

The BJD swept the assembly polls winning 117 out of 147 seats, while the opposition Congress got 16 followed by BJP with 10.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal