Lok Sabha elections phase 1: Get Set! The real IPL begins tomorrow

The Indian Political League (IPL!) is all set to get underway. With less than 24 hours to go for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, every candidate from PM Narendra Modi to Rahul Gandhi and their respective parties are in a rush and anxiety to strive for the 543 seat battle that lasts longer than a month.

Commencing from April 11 in Telangana and ending on May 23, BJP and Congress both have attempted to woo the 133 crore population of India beforehand and tomorrow is the day when people get a chance to cast their vote out.

BJP’s Alliances- BJP is in conjunction with the Shiv Sena in Maharashtra, Janata Dal (United) and Lok Jan Shakti party in Bihar All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam in Puducherry and Tamil Nadu.

Congress’ Alliances- Congress is in conjunction with NCP for Maharashtra without a doubt, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam in Tamil Nadu, Rashtriya Janata Dal-led, grand alliance in Bihar and the Janata Dal (Secular) in Karnataka.

Facts about Phase 1 of Lok Sabha Elections 2019:

It is the third biggest phase in terms of Lok Sabha seats.
There are 1,70,000 polling booths in 20 states and Union Territories.
14 crore 20 lakh and 54 thousand people would be casting votes.
91 constituencies go on polls tomorrow with 1279 candidates.

States like Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep are in Phase 1.

Arunachal Pradesh has 12 candidates from two constituencies, with 2202 polling centres,
Andhra Pradesh has 319 candidates from 25 constituencies among 45,920 polling centres.
Assam has 41 candidates from 5 consistencies with 9574 polling centres.
Bihar has 44 candidates from 4 constituencies’ among 4786 polling centres.
Chhattisgarh has 7 candidates from one constituency among 18178 polling centres.
Jammu & Kashmir has 33 candidates from 2 constituencies with 3489 polling centres.
Maharashtra has 122 candidates from 7 constituencies among 14731 polling centres.
Meghalaya has 9 candidates from two constituencies with 3167 polling centres.
Manipur has 8 candidates from one constituency with 1300 polling centres.
Mizoram has 6 candidates from one constituency among 1175 polling centres.
Nagaland has four candidates from one constituency with 2227 polling centres.
Odisha has 26 candidates from 4 constituencies among 7233 polling centres.
Sikkim has 11 candidates from one constituency among 567 polling centres.
Telangana has 433 candidates from 17 constituencies with 34603 polling centres.
Tripura has 13 candidates from one constituency with 1679 polling centres.
Uttar Pradesh has 96 candidates from 8 constituencies among 16633 polling centres.
Uttarakhand has 52 candidates from 5 constituencies with 11235 polling centres.
Bengal has 18 candidates from 2 constituencies among 3844 polling centres.
Andaman and Nicobar islands have 15 candidates from 1 constituency among 406 polling centres.
Lakshadweep islands have 6 candidates from one constituency with 51 polling centres.

On one hand, there are surveys on Narendra Modi becoming the PM again, ban on the biopic, and on the other hand are Congress’ subtle yet poking comments on BJP and their manifesto. All of this has got people talking about both the parties way too much and tomorrow is when people start casting votes. The nation will be introduced to its next PM on May 23, 2019.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal