Lok Sabha elections: Bahujan Vikas Aghadi fields Baliram Jadhav in Palghar

The suspense has ended on Palghar Lok Sabha elections, as earlier there was no decision made who will contest on that seat from Bahujan Vikas Aghad seat. But now it seems like the curtain has been raised and Bahujan Vikas Aghadi-Congress-NCP-CPI(M) fielded Baliram Jadhav from the seat. From Shiv Sena, sitting MP Rajendra Gavit will fight.

Talking to the media, BVA chief Hitendra Thakur said, “We chose Jadhav as he is the face of the BVA, and had won the seat in 2009. During his stint, he carried out a lot of development works such as launching the much-delayed Churchgate-Dahanu shuttle, gas pipeline for Vasai-Virar-Palghar and others.”

However, BVA has lost its symbol of a whistle to Bahujan Maha Party (BMP). BVA has applied for new symbol a whistle, an autorickshaw or a ring. The EC will take a decision on it on April 13.

Thakur said, “Losing the symbol is not such a big deal. We fought three elections in the past using three different symbols such as spectacles, the Congress’s hand and the whistle and won all of them. Those days, there was no social media. Using technology, we will publicise our new symbol within two days.”

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, during his roadshow in Vasai-Virar last week, had indirectly called Thakur’s partymen “thugs” (goondas). Reacting to it, Thakur said, “The Sena-BJP ruled the state and Centre for the past five years. If we are thugs, why didn’t they act against us?”

A total of 21 candidates have filed their nominations for the seat. The scrutiny will be done on April 10, and withdrawal of nominations can be done on April 12.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal