Guwahati: The first session of newly elected Assam Assembly begins today at Dispur in Guwahati.

The Bharatiya Janata Party Legislature Party met yesterday evening in presence of Chief Minister Sarbanand Sonowal, before the three-day Session of the Assembly.

The BJP and its alliance partners Asom Gana Parishad and Bodoland Peoples Front have decided to field BJP legislator Ranjit Kumar Das as the Speaker of the new Assembly.

A former journalist and Field Publicity Officer of the Information and Broadcasting Ministry, Mr Das represents Sorbhog Assembly seat and he will file nomination papers today for the post and expected to win uncontested.

Prior to that, Pro-tem Speaker Phani Bhusan Choudhury will conduct the oath taking ceremony of newly elected MLAs.

Senior BJP leader Hitendra Nath Goswami was elected as the Chief Whip of the party.

Congress Legislature party also meet yesterday which was attended among others by the former chief minister Tarun Gogoi.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal