Dhaka: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s Awami League party has won 104 seats of the 147 contested in the 10th parliamentary elections held Sunday.

The Election Commission has released final results of 139 seats out of the 147 in the 10th general elections, bdnews24.com reported.

Re-polling will be held in the remaining eight constituencies since balloting was suspended at many centres due to violence, the report added.

Having won 127 seats uncontested, the Awami league has 231 seats, which gives it a clear three-fourth majority in the 10th parliament.

But with its allies, the Bangladesh Workers’ Party and the Jatiyo Samajtantrik Dal winning 11 more seats between themselves, the Awami League will form a coalition government, the report said.

The Jatiya Party, led by former military dictator H.M. Ershad, has won 33 seats – 20 without a contest.

Ershad’s party, which parted ways with the Awami League-led 14-party grand alliance before the polls, is set to sit in the opposition.

The Awami League’s victory in Sunday’s polls was overshadowed by countrywide violence and boycott by the opposition.

The Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)-led 18-party alliance boycotted the polls.

Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad Sunday rued the absence of the opposition in Sunday’s polls but claimed the polls were largely fair.

The Awami League, expressing satisfaction over the conduct of polls, said: “The holding of the election has ended all speculation and foiled all conspiracies to thwart it.”

But the BNP and its allies denounced the polls as “one sided and farcical” and called for a 48-hour strike from Monday to nullify the results.

Mired in controversy, the elections were held in just 147 out of 300 seats in 59 out of 64 districts of the country. As many as 153 candidates have already been elected unopposed amid a boycott by the main opposition party and its allies.

Some 21 parties, including the BNP, boycotted the polls over Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s refusal to introduce a non-party interim government to oversee the elections.

Free Press Journal