All procedures followed in Lokpal search panel formation: Govt
All procedures followed in Lokpal search panel formation: Govt

New Delhi: In the wake of legal luminary Fali Nariman’s refusal to be on Lokpal’s search panel, the Centre today said all procedures had been followed for forming a search committee to recommend a panel of names for selection of chairperson and members of the anti-graft body.

“I would like to make it very clear. Transparent method has been followed. The process was followed very properly. As far as the selection of members of the search committee is concerned, Fali Nariman was one among the jurists who have been considered… It is for the person concerned either to accept or not to accept,” said Minister of State for Personnel V Narayanasamy said.

Nariman, in a letter to the government, has refused to be on the eight-member search committee citing flawed process.

The search committee is mandated to prepare a panel of persons to be considered by the Selection Committee headed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh for appointment of chairperson and members of the Lokpal.

“Without going through his letter I cannot make any comment on that,” said the Minister, adding that Nariman’s name was considered on the basis of other members’ suggestion.

“It is not the question of consulting him because the panel that had been prepared some names were there and thereafter we thought he (Nariman) would be able to serve the committee. Therefore his name was considered…,” he said.

“That does not mean that the procedure has not been followed. We cannot make any issue out of it. Out of eight members, some have given their consent. The communication (consent) has been received by our department. We will go for the next process,” he said.

The Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act, 2013 provides for the establishment of a Lokpal for the Union and Lokayuktas for the states to inquire into corruption charges against public functionaries. The Centre had already got nominations from various individuals for becoming its chairperson and members.

After receiving a panel of names by the search committee, the Prime Minister-led Selection Committee will choose the chairperson and members of the anti-graft body.

The Selection Committee has as members the Lok Sabha Speaker, Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha, the Chief Justice of India or a judge of the apex court nominated by him, and an eminent jurist who could be nominated by the President or any other member.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal