New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party’s 14 members, including party leaders Ashutosh and Shazia Ilmi, were booked Thursday for rioting outside the BJP office Wednesday here, a police official said.

“The FIR names AAP leaders Ashutosh, Shazia Ilmi, Anand Kumar and some other legislators and party workers,” the official added.

Police said a total of 33 people were detained after clashes erupted between AAP and Bharatiya Janata Party supporters and were booked under various sections of the Indian Penal Code for unlawful assembly, rioting, assault on public servants and unlawful activities.

Some of those held were let off in the morning, said the official.

The clashes took place when AAP supporters gathered outside the BJP office in central Delhi. They were protesting party chief Arvind Kejriwal’s 30-minute detention in Gujarat.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal