3 MLCs of Telangana Legislative Council disqualified

Hyderabad: Three members of the Telangana Legislative Council, who switched loyalty to the Congress on the eve of the December 7 assembly elections, were Wednesday disqualified with immediate effect on grounds of defection. TLC Chairman K Swamy Goud Wednesay disqualified K Yadava Reddy, R Bhoopathi Reddy and S Ramulu Naik as members of the upper house of legislature.

Separate bulletins have been issued by the secretary to the state legislature on their disqualification. The ruling TRS had complained to the Chairman against the members seeking their disqualification for allegedly working against the party in the Assembly polls and also joining the Congress.

Rule 6 of the Telangana Legislative Council (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, has disqualified K Yadava Reddy, who was elected by the Members of Legislative Assembly, with immediate effect,a bulletin said. Bhoopathi Reddy had been elected from Nizamabad Local Authorities constituency, while Naik was a nominated member. The Council would meet on January 19 for its next session and the Governor has issued a notification.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal