Dubai: Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s period love saga “Bajirao Mastani” continued its winning streak by taking home maximum trophies at the Times of India Film Awards – 2016 including the best director prize for the filmmaker and best actor honour for Ranveer Singh.

An awards season favourite this year, “Bajirao Mastani” also earned Priyanka Chopra the best supporting actress award, best playback singer trophy (female) for Shreya Ghoshal and composer of the year award for Bhansali (‘Deewani Mastani’).

The movie, however, lost the best film award to Kabir Khan’s 2015 blockbuster “Bajrangi Bhaijaan”, which was widely appreciated for its emotional story of a Pakistani deaf and mute girl who is rescued by a Hanuman devotee, played by super star Salman Khan.

While Bhansali kept his award acceptance speech short and sweet, his lead actor appeared overwhelmed and took some time on the stage to thank the filmmaker.

Addressing to Bhansali, Ranveer said, “You are an inspiring man. I am something else when I work with you. I hope our collaboration continues and we work together again to entertain audience.”

When his name was announced, Ranveer pulled Bhansali in a long bear hug and kissed him before walking up to the stage.

Ranveer was presented the award by an entrepreneur but it seemed the 30-year-old wanted to make the most of the moment as he asked superstar Shah Rukh Khan, who was hosting the segment, to come and present him his best actor trophy.

Kabir Khan dedicated the best film honour to the movie’s star and co-producer Salman.

For her endearing turn as bucked-teeth Dattoo in Anand L Rai’s “Tanu Weds Manu Returns”, Kangana Ranaut won the best actress award.

Krishika Lulla of Eros International, the film’s co-producers, accepted on the behalf of the actress. Megastar Amitabh Bachchan won the best actor critics choice award for his portrayal of a cranky father in “Piku”.

The 73-year-old, while thanking audience for its support, said he was glad people were finally accepting films like “Piku”.

Kalki Koechlin picked the best actress critics choice award for “Margarita, With A Straw”.

The best supporting actor (male) award went to Anil Kapoor for his performance in Zoya Akhtar’s “Dil Dhadakne Do”. Deepak Dobriyal was honoured with the award for the best actor in a comic role for “Tanu Weds Manu Returns”.

Sooraj Pancholi bagged the best debutant (male) trophy for last year’s forgettable movie “Hero”, while Bhumi Pedneker took home the best debutant (female) award for her acclaimed performance as an “over-sized” bride in romantic-comedy-drama “Dum Laga Ke Haisha”. Neeraj Ghaywan took home the best debutant director prize for his work on “Masaan”.

Best album award went to “Roy”, while Varun Grover bagged the best lyricist honour for “Moh Moh Ke Dhaage” (‘Dum Lagake Haisha’). The sweet melody also earned Papon the best singer (male) award.

The award ceremony, held last night at the Dubai International Stadium, were hosted by Riteish Deshmukh, Parineeti Chopra (in a pair) and Manish Paul.

For all the latest news, updates, live coverage of Cricket World Cup 2019 on . Follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for updates on cricket's biggest carnival in England

Free Press Journal