Young Mohammedan, GM Police in semi-finals

Mumbai : Greater Mumbai Police SC and Young Mohammedan Cricket Club stromed into semi-final round of the 69thNawab Salar Jung Invitation T20 Cricket Tournament, which is being organised by the Islam Gymkhana under the auspices of the Mumbai Cricket Association.

In a quarter-final match, the formidable Mumbai Police team registered a thumping 8-wicket win against Worli Sports Club at the Mumbai Police Gymkhana ground on Saturday. In the other quarter-final, Young Mohammedan’s scored a comfortable 4-wicket victory against Bohra CC at the Islam Gymkhana ground.

Electing to field first, Mumbai Police were disciplined with their bowling and did well to restrict Worli SC to a modest total of 122 for 8 wickets from 20 overs. Number 3 bat Sumedh Tare (47 runs) and number 6 bat Nikhil Jadhav (26) were the only Worli batsmen who managed to dig in and get some runs. Mumbai Police left-arm medium pacer Yogesh Jagtap snapped up 2 wickets for 22 runs. Mumbai Police comfortable crossed the winning target scoring 126 runs and losing just two wickets in just 11.2 overs.

 Opener Shahid Shaikh top-scored with 47 runs and put together an 84 runs first wicket partnership with Arman Shaikh (28) and steer the Policemen to victory and a semi-final meeting with defending champions Parsee Gymkhana.

In the other match, Bohra CC who were sent in to bat, scored 154 for 5 wickets in their 20-over innings. Jahangir Ansari cracked a 54-ball 79 runs, but his efforts went in vain.

In reply, Young Mohammedan reached 157 for 6 wickets in 17.4 overs. Opener Adeeb Usmani made 61 runs from 39 balls and number 3 bat Hasbir Dafedar scored 39 runs to take Young Mohammedan to victory.

Brief scores: Bohra CC 154 for 5 wickets, 20 overs (Jahangir Ansari 79, Kaustubh Kotrolikar 32, Amey Lad 24; Naushad Khan 2/30) lost to Young Mohammedan CC 157 for 6 wickets, 17.4 overs (Adeeb Usmani 61, Hasbir Dafedar 39, Kadir Patel 24; Nashim Sayyed 3/24, Prashant Patil 2/25) by 4 wickets.

Worli Sports Club 122 for 8 wickets, 20 overs (Sumedh Tare 47, Nikhil Jadhav 26; Yogesh Jagtap 2/22) lost to Greater Mumbai Police SC 126 for 2 wickets, 11.2 overs (Shahid Shaikh 47, Arman Shaikh 28, Mayur Sanap 24*; Shadab Khan 1/15) by 8 wickets.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal