Vivek Phansalkar appointed as new Thane Police Commissioner

Mumbai: Vivek Phansalkar, a 1989-batch officer, has been appointed the new Thane Police Commissioner while Parambir Singh, former Thane Police Commissioner, has been transferred to Mumbai as the Additional Director General of Police (Law and Order).

Phansalkar was the Additional Director General of the Anti-Corruption Bureau since May 2016; he has also held the post of chief of Anti-Terrorism Squad (Maharashtra) and Joint Commissioner of Police (Traffic) in Mumbai. Hailing from Nagpur, he is close to the Chief Minister and was first posted as Additional Superintendent of Police in Akola district. He also did a stint with the International Police Task Force, United Nations Mission to Bosnia, where he was awarded two UN medals.

Hemant Nagrale, the former Police Commissioner of Navi Mumbai, has been transferred to the Mumbai Police Headquarters as Additional Director General of Police (Equipment and Provisions). Sanjay Kumar, a 1989-batch officer, is the new Navi Mumbai Police Commissioner. Kumar was earlier the Additional Director General of Police (Crime and Investigation Department) at Pune. He was leading the Special Investigation Team (SIT) in the murder of rationalist leader Govind Pansare.

On Saturday, 84 Indian Police Service officers were transferred. Manjunath Singe, Superintendent of Police, Palghar, has been appointed as Mumbai Police spokesperson. IPS officer Abhishek Trimukhe, who was earlier Deputy Commissioner of Police, Thane crime branch, has been transferred to Mumbai as Deputy Commissioner of Police (Zone 1).

Manoj Kumar Sharma who was earlier posted as Deputy Commissioner of Police, Zone 1, has been promoted as Additional Commissioner of Police (Western region). K Venkatesham will be the new Police Commissioner of Pune while Rashmi Shukla, former Pune Police Commissioner, has been appointed as ADG of Highway police. Bhushan Kumar Upadhyay, ADG (Prisons), will now head the Nagpur police. IPS officer RK Padmanabhan will be the Police Commissioner of Pimpri-Chinchwad. Rajnish Sheth, a 1988 batch IPS officer, has been appointed as the new ADG of Criminal Investigation Department. Amitabh Gupta has been appointed as the new Principal Secretary (Special) at the Home Department. Despite repeated calls and text messages, Parambir Singh remained unavailable for comment.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal