Vishwanath Deorukhkar, Vishal Sonawane, Aviraj Akhade emerge winners of Morrac Championship

MUMBAI : Vishwanath Deorukhkar from Virar, overcame unseeded Sharif Shaikh in the final of the Samaj Unnati Mandal, Nallasopara-organised 1st Palghar District Morrac Championship held under the auspices of Palghar District Morrac Association and Morrac Association, at Samaj Unnti Mandal Hall, Mahatma Phule Nagar, Nallasopara (West).

Deorukhkar showed steely nerves and solid concentration to upstage his fancied Sharif Shaikh from Nallasopara in a hard fought straight games ecounter 41-26, 32-16.

Earlier in the semi-final Deorukhkar toppled in-form Prakash Baraskar of Nallasopara 36-26, 35-34 in a straight games encounter.

In the other semi-final, Sharif Shaikh overcame Sandeep Sarsar in a thrilling 39-31, 29-30, 39-34 encounter to enter final.

In the Youth Boys singles final, unseeded Vishal Sonawane prevailed over upcoming Shashank Shirodkar of Virar 38-32, 34-32 in straight games encounter to annex the title.

In Junior boys singles final, top-seeded Aviraj Akhade of Virar upstaged Chinmay Sonwane of Nallasopara 34-20, 26-17 in a striaght games encounter.

In the Junior Girls singles final, Shruti Sonawane of Virar playing attacking game displayed excellent cut shots prevailed over Anjali Rodial of Nallasopara in straight games encounter 41-25, 34-33 to claim junior girls title.

In the Sub-Junior Girls Singles final Shruti Sonawane of Virar overcame Simran Shinde of Nallasopara in straight games 43-27, 42-26 to claim Sub-Junior Girls title.

In the Sub-Junior Boys final Arpan Bandiwadekar of Virar defeated Ritesh Mohite of Vasai in straight games 32-18, 35-32 to claim Sub-Junior boys title.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal