Ujjain: Congress, BJP, SAPAKS & independent candidates file nomination papers

On the last date of filing of nomination papers, dozens of persons including candidates of BJP, Congress and SAPAKS as well as independents filed their nomination papers for 7 assembly constituencies of the district.  They reached at the offices of concerned returning officers in shubha muhurat for filing nomination papers. Though exact number of nomination papers could not be known till filing of this report, reports indicated that about 150 persons filed nominations in all.

Congress candidates, rebels file nominations
Congress candidates from Ujjain North and South constituency Rajendra Bharti and Rajendra Vashistha filled nomination papers on the last day on Friday. Senior leaders including Manohar Bairagi, Mahesh Soni, Batuk Shankar Joshi, Kailash Jain, Parmnand Verma, Yogesh Sharma, Anant Narayan Meena were present with them.

Former MLA Ramlal Malviya presented his nomination paper from Ghattiya along with huge supporters. Resentment has been seen within Congress over distribution of tickets this time and party members like Maya Trivedi and Jaya Singh Darbar filled nomination independently.

Congress corporator Maya Trivedi filed nomination from Ujjain North constituency seat and Jay Singh Darbar who was party candidate in 2013 election filed nomination paper from Ujjain South constituency seat. All of them performed darshan of presiding deities of various temples and took out nomination rallies with impressive number of supporters and party workers. From Sapaks senior lawyer Pt Jiyalal Sharma and yoga expert Pt Radhe Shyam Mishra filed their nomination papers from Ujjain North and South constituency, respectively.

BJP’s Jitendra Pandya stages dhrana on cancellation of ticket

Ujjain: Congress, BJP, SAPAKS & independent candidates file nomination papers

BJP has cancelled the ticket of Jitendra Pandya and declared Sanjay Sharma as party candidate from Badnagar constituency recently. Jitendra Pandya’s supporters had shown their resentment on cancellation of ticket. Supporters even broke glass windows and chairs of party office and shouted slogans against district president Shayam Bansal and Pradeep Joshi. They also blamed the top leaders for selling tickets in exchange of money.

BJP’s Mohan Yadav files nomination

Ujjain: Congress, BJP, SAPAKS & independent candidates file nomination papers

BJP MLA Mohan Yadav filed nomination on Friday in the presence district president Vivek Joshi, ex-mayor Madanlal Lalawat and Ramesh Chandra Sharma. Union minister Dr Jitendra Singh was also present on the occasion. Dr Jitendra Singh participated in rally organised for Mohan Yadav after filling of nomination papers. Dr Chintamani Malviya, election organiser Anil Jain Kaluheda Babulal Jain, mayor Meena Jonwal and Suresh Giri were present on the occasion.

Premchnad Guddu curses Kamal Nath

Ujjain: Congress, BJP, SAPAKS & independent candidates file nomination papers

Ex-Congress MP Premchand Guddu, who had recently joined BJP, bitterly cursed Kamalnath and blamed him for selling tickets. He said Nath does not know anything about district and he did not even spend one night in city and he blamed him for loss of Congress in election. It is notable that BJP has given ticket to Premchand Guddu’s son Ajit Borasi from Ghattiya constituency in assembly election 2018. Union minister Thawar Chand Gehlot, BJP national general secretary Kailash Vijayvergiya and outgoing MLA Satish Malviya were present along with Borasi at the time of filing nomination paper.

Setback for Congress in Ujjain North seat

Ujjain: Congress, BJP, SAPAKS & independent candidates file nomination papers

Rajendra Bharti filled nomination as official candidate of Congress party from Ujjain north constituency seat on Friday. Along with him, an old member of congress party and incumbent corporator Maya Trivedi also filled independent nomination from Ujjain north seat on Friday. Maya Trivedi has been demanding ticket from congress party. She will now fight election as an independent. Two strong leaders of congress party contesting against each other will impact on their vote share within the party and may possibly tilt the result in favour of BJP candidate Paras Jain. Maya Trivedi is expecting to get support from Muslim and Brahmin community which can severely harm the electoral equation for Congress candidate Rajendra Bharti.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal