Srinagar bypoll results: NC Chief Farooq Abdullah wins by-polls with 26, 695 votes

Srinagar: National Conference Chief Farooq Abdullah won the Srinagar by-polls on Saturday, and following his victory announced his demand of the removal of the PDP Government.

After completing 13th round of counting, Abdullah bagged 26, 695 votes while the PDP candidate got 17,901 votes.

“Thank the eople who supported me. This was the bloodiest election ever. Results show that people are in favour of NC. Request Goverment of India and President to dismiss present government right away. Governor’s rule should be imposed,” Abdullah told the media after his victory.

A voter turnout of 7.13 percent was recorded in the re-polling that went on in 38 polling stations of the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat on Thursday. 1.4 percent voter turnout was recorded polling till 12 noon in Budgam where re-polling took place at 38 voting stations.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday announced re-polling on 38 polling stations on April 13.

The by-polls of Srinagar Parliamentary constituency were held on April 9 amidst multiple incidences of violence resulting in the killing of seven civilians and injuring many.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal