Indore : Accepting a request by the National Council for Teacher Education, the Supreme Court has extended the deadline for granting recognition to teacher education courses for session 2016-17 till May 2.

Besides, the apex court also permitted the universities to award affiliations to the teacher education courses till May 30. Previously, the deadline for granting recognition was March 3 whereas the last date for awarding affiliations was May 10.

A public notice issued by the member secretary of NCTE said the Supreme Court in its latest order on a petition filed by the Council has extended deadline for granting recognition to the teacher education institutions, including BEd, MEd, BPEd and DEd institutes, for session 2016-17 till May 2.

The notice added that the SC has also allowed the universities to grant affiliations to such colleges till May 30. Two years back, the Supreme Court on a petition had issued a schedule for recognition, affiliation and admissions in teacher training institutions.

As per the schedule, the NCTE had to grant recognition to applicant colleges by March 3 whereas the deadline for affiliation was set for May 10. The NCTE had received scores of applications last year from teacher training institutions seeking recognition from session 2016-17.

The NCTE could not decide on all the applications within the deadline so it filed a petition in the SC requesting it to extend the last date for granting recognition for session 2016-17.

The SC accepted the request of the NCTE but while doing so it also had to compromise on the deadline for affiliation. The court extended the affiliation deadline also from May 10 to May 30.

 One-year RI to 4 for cow slaughter   

Indore : A local court sentenced four persons to rigorous imprisonment for one year for cow slaughter. The court also imposed a fine of Rs 1000 on each of the accused stating that they would have to undergo additional imprisonment on non-payment of the fine. Some persons had slaughtered a cow and its calf in a field behind Annapurna on April 14, 2014.

During investigation, the police came to know that Niyazuddin (29), Irfan Sheikh (30), Shoaib (19) and Ibrahim (30) were involved in the incident which had triggered tension in the locality. Police registered a case against them and produced charge-sheet in the court. After hearing both the parties, judicial magistrate Arun Kumar Kharadi convicted the accused and handed down sentence to them.

District Prosecution Officer Mahendra Kumar Chaturvedi said that the court awarded one year rigorous imprisonment to the convicts and imposed a fine of Rs 1000 on each of them. He said that the court also ruled that the convicts had to undergo additional imprisonment on non-payment of the fine amount.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal